Researchers of the DOST-Forest Products Research and Development Institute (DOST-FPRDI) bagged major awards in the recently concluded 34th Regional Symposium on Research, Development and Extension Highlights.

Engr. Shirley A. Pelayo, For. Sheryll C. Micosa, Kennethjer G. Alejo, Alaine G. Pagatpatan and For. Carmina F. Lasap won the Best Research Poster Award for their paper titled “Efficacy of CNSL Formulations against Molds and Decay Fungi as Applied to Commercial Forest Woody Vines”.

The paper was part of a completed project funded by the DOST-PCAARRD. The study developed cashew nut shell liquid (CNSL) formulations and tested them against molds (Aspergillus niger and Penicillium sp.) and decay fungi (Gloephylum sepiarum and Polyporus sanguineus) under laboratory condition.

“CNSL formulations had slight inhibitory effect against molds, but were moderately to highly effective against decay fungi. Three times brushing of CNSL formulations at higher concentration gave higher retention value. Indoor exposure test of treated vines showed that among the three CNSL formulations, the CNSL + copper chloride was comparable with the standard preservatives in preventing fungal attack,” explained Pelayo.

Meanwhile, placing third in the Best Extension Paper category were Engr. Cesar O. Austria, For. Jovito Elec, Froilan B. Samiano, Audel Mosteiro, Noel Medrano and Val Valderama for their entry titled “The Adversity That Leads to Innovation: DOST-FPRDI Bamboo-Framed Face Shield”.

The bamboo-framed face shield is one of DOST-FPRDI’s initiatives in response to the COVID-19 outbreak. It utilizes bamboo - a perennial, woody-stemmed grass that is known for its many uses and is widely used in making handicrafts and furniture in the country.

Bannering the theme “Science and Technology: Enhancing the Sustainability and Resiliency of the Agriculture, Aquatic and Natural Resources Sector”, the regional symposium was organized by the Southern Tagalog Agriculture, Aquatic and Resources Research, Development and Extension Consortium (STAARRDEC). The awarding was held last 20 October 2021 via Zoom & Facebook Live. ### (Apple Jean C. Martin- de Leon, 21 October 2021)